The Hockey Sweater

One of my favourite all time stories as a child is a book called The Hockey Sweater.  Originally written in French by Roch Carrier.

hockeysweater.jpg

It’s an amazing tale of a child, who in 1946 when the Rocket Richard was a cultural icon, wore out his #9 Montreal Canadiens sweater.

In it’s place, he receives in error a sweater of the Toronto Maple Leafs.  Absolutely horrifying.

I wonder what feelings the sweater our Vancouver Canucks have come up with today will conjure up among it’s fans.  I really have no expectations of the sweater or that I’ll even like it as it’s been since I was a child and the team wore the flying V that I really liked one of their their sweaters.

Only a few more hours now and we’ll see.  I’m going to the release and will try to post something after.

The Chief Canuck

Explore posts in the same categories: Canuck, Vancouver, Vancouver Canucks

Leave a Reply

